Note that this is a repost from my old blog. I apologize for any errors or misspellings that I didn’t catch. Let me know if anything is weird.

(from Goodreads) A fresh, urban twist on the classic tale of star-crossed lovers.
When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created “perfect” life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she’s worked so hard for—her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect. Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.  In a passionate story about looking beneath the surface, Simone Elkeles breaks through the stereotypes and barriers that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart.

This was a book recommended to me by one of my great friends. She said it was amazing and it was! It really was. Unlike the last book, this one made an impression on me and I remember most of what happened in it without reminders. 


At first I didn’t really like Brittany, she’s one of those super-duper popular people. Although I think that was the intention in the beginning. But even then, I still liked her. Underneath the facade, she was a real and cool person. Alex was a cool person too. He was realistic too and interesting. All of the characters were pretty realistic and interesting. 


I hated Brittany’s popular boyfriend and I was glad when she broke up with him. I thought it was cruel when Alex toyed with Brittany’s heart but I was glad when they fell in love despite the barriers and stereotypes surrounding them. I didn’t agree with some of their choices, like Brittany’s near the end which lets Alex win the bet. The characters as I’ve mentioned were realistic and acted like real people and real teenagers with their own problems and desires. 


I love the plot it was interesting and orginal I think.   The story was funny and although it wasn’t something I’d normally read, I am thankful that my friend introduced me to this series. The writing was very good. It was in a way that you could understand and feel what the characters were feeling, but it wasn’t infodumpy or anything like that. 


The story’s message I think was good and it was about (I think) how everyone deep down is different and yet the same. Everyone has their problems and everyone is cool too given the chance. And you shouldn’t let other people tell you what to do or who you should be. You also shouldn’t be worried with what people think because in the end, it doesn’t really matter. 


But there were some things in this book that made me uncomfortable. Note that there is swearing and sexual stuff in this book and I don’t think this is a book younger kids should read. But that being said, it did make the story all that much more real. 


I really would like to ramble. The book was amazing and it was cool to read. There’s a few minor things I didn’t like about the book but for the most part, I loved it. The characters were by far, my favorite part. Mostly cause I could relate to them and I loved seeing them change in the end. And for the good too. They overcame the odds and fought for what they believed in. It was cool. 


There’s not much I can say about this book besides gushing, so I’m just gonna leave it with this. It was a five star book. I know its not everyone’s cup of tea, but I think its a good book to read. It really makes one think, I think.


Goodreads: Perfect Chemistry

Website: Simone Elkeles


Latest Posts

One thought on “Book Review – Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

Leave a comment