1984

by George Orwell

I read this in high school as a “pick your own book for book report” assignments and thought it was really good. The writing style is interesting and the ending was a choice but I thought it was fitting.

Ender’s Game

by Orson Scott Card

I think I read this one for fun and really enjoyed it. I’ve never read the other books in the series although I’ve also seen the movie. I think the movie did a really good job with the source material.

Fahrenheit 451

by Ray Bradbury

Another book I read in school for class, although I thought it was really interesting. I’m glad I had to read it actually.

Brave New World

by Aldous Huxley

I read this in college for my class on Dystopians and Utopians. It was an alright book, not one of my favorites.

The Handmaid’s Tale

by Margaret Atwood

I read this book a couple years ago when my ex gave it to me for my birthday. I might have given the book to one of his friends or given it away, I can’t really remember.

I love the show but I honestly couldn’t get through this book. The writing style wasn’t my favorite.

Stardust

by Neil Gaiman

I really enjoyed the movie but I saw the movie before I knew it was a book! I just thought it was something quirky. Made my mom buy it for me and my cousins all watched it with me as well.

The Giver

by Lois Lowry

I believe I read this in middle school and I read the second book as well. Both were pretty enjoyable actually. It partly inspired a science fiction book I wrote in high school that I haven’t done anything with since I finished it.

Eon (The Way #1)

by Greg Bear

Okay this might not be a popular classic but I picked it up at a garage sale and enjoyed it. Although I don’t think I understood a lot of it at the time. I believe I picked it up in high school.

Oryx and Crake

by Margaret Atwood

I’m not sure if this is a classic either but we all know the author. I read this in college and thought it was a weird novel to be honest. It was an interesting commentary and the writing was a lot better than The Handmaiden’s Tale.


Latest Posts

2 thoughts on “Science fiction classics I have read.

Leave a comment